The mission of the American Academy of Underwater Sciences (AAUS) is to facilitate the development of safe and productive scientific divers through education, research and the advancement of standards for scientific diving practices, certifications and operations. The AAUS Foundation is a 501(c)3 corporation established to promote the philanthropic efforts of the Academy.

The Foundation will administer both existing and new scholarship initiatives on behalf of the Academy.  

For more information or to apply for any scholarship, please visit www.aausfoundation.org


Research Awards

AAUS awards competitive scholarships to graduate students engaged in, or planning to begin, a research project in which diving is used as an important research tool or the research topic is diving science. One scholarship is given for each level, Ph.D. and Masters, at $3000 each. AAUS Foundation may also award two additional $1500 scholarships to the next top-ranking proposals. If the additional scholarships are awarded, they may be split between the master and doctoral programs or they may be both awarded within a single program.

Applicants for research awards must fulfill the following requirements:

  • Be a current member of AAUS (student or full member).
  • Be enrolled in or formally accepted into a master or doctoral program.
  • Submit electronically a brief proposal1 describing the research methods2, significance of the research, and detailed budget (if part of a larger budget, specify other funding and describe how AAUS funds will be spent).

1maximum length five pages, including references - single-spacing, 11 pitch font, one inch margins, figures welcome; include department and school affiliation in header text

2any diving to be conducted for the proposed research must be conducted under the auspices of an AAUS-sanctioned program

  • Have a letter of support submitted electronically from a faculty advisor.
  • Write an article for the E-Slate, an AAUS news publication, describing the proposed research.
  • Present the results of their research at an AAUS symposium or other scientific meeting within one year of the project’s completion.
  • To apply visit www.aausfoundation.org
  • For more information, contact the Scholarship Committee Chair at [email protected].

Proposal deadline is June 30.

Research award winners are announced October 01.


General Support Awards

Kevin Flanagan Student Travel Award provides up to $800 to undergraduate and/or graduate students interested in diving science to attend AAUS scientific meetings. The award is competitive merit-based. As many as three students may be funded annually.  *The Kevin Flanagan award was established in collaboration with Kevin's family as a legacy to his commitment to AAUS and scientific diving. Kevin served as AAUS board member (2009-2011) and diving safety officer at the University of Hawaii and East Carolina University prior to his death in April 2012. Our goal is to develop this as the first endowed award of the AAUS Foundation, permanently funded through interest earned on the raised capital.

Gear Award  -The gear award, previously offered by Hollis, will not be offered in 2018. Please stay tuned for developments in this award for 2019.


Applicants for the student travel and gear awards must fulfill the following requirement:

·         Be a current member of AAUS (student or full member).

·         Be enrolled as an undergraduate or graduate student.

·         Submit electronically a proposal letter describing the professional benefits to be derived from attending an AAUS meeting and a budget for travel expenses requested from AAUS.

·         Have a letter of support submitted electronically from a faculty advisor.


To apply visit www.aausfoundation.org.  Proposal deadline is June 30.

Travel award winners are announced August 01.