Home Page /images/AAUS/Headers/News_Articles.jpg

Kevin Flanagan Student Travel Award

The Kevin Flanagan Student Travel Award is a competitive award developed to support the professional development of students engaged in diving science or the study of diving science. The award was created in memory of Kevin Flanagan (1970-2012), an AAUS board member (2009-2011) and diving safety officer (1998-2012). Donations to fund this award can be given at www.aausfoundation.org. Please indicate "K Flanagan Fund" on the donation page. Join us in our efforts to honor Kevin and provide students with much needed travel funds.

The Flanagan Travel Award provides up to 3 students with an $800 travel stipend to attend the annual AAUS Diving for Science Symposium as well as a waiver of symposium registration fees. Students may apply for this award independently of or in addition to the research award.

Applicant must:
• Be a current member of AAUS (student or full member). Prospective applicants can join at www.aaus.org/join.
• Be enrolled as an undergraduate or graduate student.
• Complete the online form and upload a proposal letter describing the professional benefits to be derived from attending an AAUS meeting and a budget for travel expenses requested from AAUS.
• A letter of support from a faculty advisor must be submitted electronically to aausscholarships@gmail.com

Completed applications are due June 30. More information and the online application, can be found at www.aausfoundation.org/scholarships/apply now or send questions to the Scholarship Committee Chair at aaus@aaus.org